Groups

You may have different events for different groups of people. For example, Managers may see manager training classes that are not available to individual contributors. Engineers may see different events than salespeople, and so on. Groups feature allows you to control the access to an event based on the person’s group membership.

Where do integration groups come from?

Groups can be created by two different methods: integrations or manual creation.

Groups coming from integrations follow this process:

Each organization may have a different set of data that we can use to infer groups. Your company may have departments assigned to an employee as well as a flag that tells us whether the person is a manager. We use this information to create various group options. This is a custom piece of software we call Groups Integration.

For example, let’s say, via Groups Integration that uses Workday data at your company, we get departments such as Sales, Marketing, and Engineering as well as a flag for Manager or not. In that case, we’d create the following groups: Sales, Sales Managers, Marketing, Marketing Managers, Engineering, Engineering Managers, and Managers.

How we create the data for your organization is based on some custom integration that we create with your data. Everyone is slightly different.

Creating groups

To create a group one needs to go to Dashboard > Groups > Create group or through Profile Menu > My groups > Create group. They will be prompted questions such as the group’s name, its privacy settings (in case an admin is creating the group, otherwise the group will be automatically private) and group members. The created groups will be available for use in some pages, such as the invite to event page.

Manual creation is restricted to certain user roles, such as admins, organizers and mentors.

Editing groups

Groups can be edited either through their group details page or directly through the dashboard. Please note that groups provided by integration cannot be edited.

Admins are able to see and edit any groups they want, whether they are private or public, except if they’re owned by an integration. Organizers and mentors can only edit groups they own.

Admins are able to change a group’s privacy through the edition page, while organizers and mentors are not allowed to do so.

Deleting groups

Groups can be deleted through the group edition page or through the dashboard. Admins can delete any groups they wish, except for those owned by integrations. Organizers and mentors are allowed to delete the groups they own.

Assigning Groups to people

Integration:

What groups a person belongs to is automatic based on what we know about that person.

For example, when Charlie logs in via SSO and your Groups Integration tells us that he’s in the Engineering department and is a Manager, we add Charlie to the following groups:

  • Engineering
  • Managers
  • Engineering Managers

Note that neither Charlie nor anyone else can change this information. This is done automatically based on the Groups Integration at your organization.

Manual assignment:

Power users can also assign people to existing groups, except for those owned by integrations. They can do that through the group creation page or the group edition page.

Restricting access to events with Groups

You can specify what groups of people can access an event by listing the allowed groups. If there are no groups specified, it means the event is open to all. By specifying groups, you’re limiting the access to just those groups.

For example, if you have a class Engineering Bootcamp, you may want to limit it to just Engineering Managers by specifying that group.

Note that if you instead of Engineering Managers had granted access to Engineering and Managers groups, you would’ve allowed all engineers (managers or not) and all managers (in all departments) to see this event. That’s probably not what you had in mind.

Note also that by restricting an event, we make that event not discoverable for people who are not supposed to see them. If a person that is not part of allowed groups has a direct URL to a restricted event, that person cannot register for the event – the Enroll button is disabled. The person can contact the organizer and get them to directly enroll them via Roster (see the section below).

Exceptions

Power users (Admins, Organizers, and Event Presenters) can still see all the events, however, events with group restrictions show as [Restricted] in their name. Regular users do not see this label – to them the events they can see appear normal.

If a person not on an allowed group list is added to an event by an Organizer via Roster, that person is now granted access to this event which overrides the group restrictions.

Workday Groups Integration

To create a connection to Workday to get the data, we need a report from Workday. This report would return all employee record. For example, the URL may look like this:

https://services.myworkday.com/ccx/service/customreport/acme/Information_for_PlusPlus?format=json

Optionally, we would also be able to invoke this report for just one specific employee, typically based on their email address. For example:

https://services.myworkday.com/ccx/service/customreport/acme/Information_for_PlusPlus?format=json&primaryWorkEmail=charlie@acme.com

Here’s an example what the employee data may look like in JSON format:

{
  "Report_Entry": [{
    "Work_Email": "charlie@acme.com",
    "Department": "Engineering",
    "Level_of_Impact": "Manager",
  }]
}

This data will differ from one company to another. Please contact your Customer Success person to help you set up Workday Groups integration to match your needs.

Category: Docs Author: PlusPlusAdmin Date: January 1, 2016 2:09 pm